Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years learning challenges children and encourages them to develop into independent, motivated learners and thinkers, full of curiosity about the world around them within a fun, happy and secure environment.

Our Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum is based on seven areas of learning:

Prime Areas of Learning


  • Communication and  Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development 


Specific Areas of Learning 


  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design 


The skills and competencies learnt, will enable them to cope with the demands of later schooling and life generally. Children are encouraged to explore, enquire and to take risks in an interactive hands on environment. This includes the use of 'Letters and Sounds' interactive whiteboards and computers, as well as dedicated high quality outdoor learning areas.